top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrandon Hicks

Understanding Wrongful Death Lawsuits in Indiana: What You Need to Know

Losing a loved one is never easy, but when that loss is due to the negligent, reckless, or intentional acts of another, the pain can be even more profound. In Indiana, families who have lost a loved one under such circumstances may be entitled to seek justice through a wrongful death lawsuit. However, navigating the legal system can be complex, and understanding your rights and options is crucial. In this blog post, we'll explore some key aspects of wrongful death lawsuits in Indiana, including the statute of limitations, types of compensation available, and why it's essential to seek legal guidance promptly.

Statute of Limitations:

The statute of limitations for filing a wrongful death lawsuit in Indiana is generally two years. However, the timeline can vary depending on the circumstances surrounding the death. For instance, if the death resulted from medical malpractice, a defective product, or some other cause, the time for filing the lawsuit might be calculated from the date of the act that led to the death or the date of death itself. This makes it crucial for families to act swiftly and consult with an experienced Indianapolis wrongful death lawyer as soon as they suspect their loved one's passing may have been caused by negligence.

Types of Compensation Available:

In wrongful death suits, survivors may seek various forms of compensation to address the financial and emotional losses they have endured. Some of the damages that can be pursued include:

  1. Medical Expenses: This includes any medical bills incurred as a result of the injury that led to the victim's death.

  2. Funeral Expenses: The costs associated with laying a loved one to rest can be significant, and families may seek reimbursement for these expenses through a wrongful death lawsuit.

  3. Loss of Income: If the victim was a primary breadwinner for the family, surviving family members may seek compensation for the income they would have received had the victim survived.

  4. Loss of Benefits: This can include the loss of pension benefits, medical insurance, or other perks that the victim provided to their family.

  5. Loss of Companionship and Affection: No amount of money can replace the love and companionship of a lost family member, but compensation may be available to help address the emotional toll of the loss.

  6. Mental Anguish: The pain and suffering endured by surviving family members due to the untimely death of their loved one may also be considered in a wrongful death suit.

  7. Attorney's Fees: In some cases, prevailing plaintiffs may be entitled to recover attorney's fees incurred during the legal process.

  8. Psychological Counseling: Under the Child Wrongful Death Act, families may seek compensation for psychological counseling to help them cope with the trauma of losing a child.

Losing a loved one due to the negligence or misconduct of another is a devastating experience. However, families in Indiana have legal recourse through wrongful death lawsuits to seek justice and compensation for their losses. By understanding the statute of limitations, types of compensation available, and the importance of seeking legal representation, families can take the necessary steps to protect their rights and hold responsible parties accountable for their actions. If you believe you have a wrongful death claim, don't hesitate to reach out to an experienced Indianapolis wrongful death lawyer who can guide you through the legal process and fight for the justice you deserve.


bottom of page